The Commission on Yeast of the Czechoslovak Society for Microbiology has been constituted by prominent Czechoslovak yeast scientists Dr. Anna Kocková-Kratochvílová and Dipl. Ing. Erich Minárik in 1964 as a specialized branch of the Czechoslovak Microbiological Society. The idea behind establishing the Comission on Yeast was to facilitate dissemination of knowledge and to stimulate the cooperation among yeast researchers and students from research institutes, universities and industry in yeast research. Dr. A. Kocková-Kratochvílová and Dipl. Ing. E. Minárik were also the initiators and co-founders of the International Commission on Yeasts (ICY). The birth of the ICY took place during the 2nd International Symposium on Yeasts held in Bratislava (Slovakia) in 1966. After the peaceful separation of Czechoslovakia into Czech Republic and Slovak Republic in 1993, the Czechoslovak Society for Microbiology as well as its Commission on Yeast remained unified, continuing to integrate Czech, Moravian and Slovak microbiologists and yeast scientists.

Chairs of the Czechoslovak Comission on Yeast

  • 1964-1983KOCK
    Dr. A. Kocková-Kratochvílová, DrSc
  • 1983-1993MINAssoc. Prof. Ing. E. Minárik, DrSc
  • 1993-2002PET2Dr. P. Biely, DrSc
  • 2002-2010VLADO2Assoc. Prof. Ing. V. Farkaš, DrSc
  • 2011-2018IHDr. I. Hapala, PhD.
  • 2018 – IHAssoc. Prof. Ing. M. Čertík, PhD.

The activities of the Czechoslovak Comission on Yeast are aimed at spreading the information and at coordination of yeast research in Czech Republic and Slovakia, e.g. by the publishing the ten-yearbooks providing the overview of major achievments of the yeast research community in Czech Republic and Slovakia. The last report of this series named “Fifty Years of the Activity in Czech and Slovak Yeast Research” has been published in 2010. The major activity, however, is the organization of Annual Conferences on Yeast and various international yeast symposia. Over 50 years, the Comission on Yeast has organized 40 Annual Yeast Conferences, one International Conference on Yeast (ICY) and five International Specialized Symposia on Yeasts (ISSY), the last one, 30th International Specialized Symposium on Yeast: Cell Surface and Organelles in Yeast – From Basics to Applications, last June in Stara Lesna (High Tatras). The Annual Conferences on Yeast are traditionally taking place in the Conference Center of the Slovak Academy of Sciences in the Smolenice Castle near Bratislava. Beautiful natural surroundings and attractive interiors of the castle contribute to a special „savour“ of our conferences stimulating informal meetings and exchange of ideas in the yeast community.